Karditsa is the city of Thessaly, the capital of the homonymous Regional Unity (formerly Prefecture of Karditsa - and formerly Thessaliotida), and the seat of the municipality of Karditsa and the Holy Metropolis of Thessaly and Phanariorferals. It is located at the western end of the Thessalian plain.West at the end of the city's central pedestrian street, we find the neoclassical Arnius Hotel, built by a French architect in 1920, with a vaulted dome. [17] According to other sources, the hotel was built in 1921 by the politician Konstantinos Tertipis. [18] Valvi Street leading to the market is the only street in the city that retains the color of old Karditsa. It was named in honor of Prime Minister Zenobi Valvi (1800-1872).
In the central part of the city, next to Plastiras Square, there is the Pausilios grove, whose name derives from the fact that walking in it leads to a "pause of regret". The then Mayor Vaios Tzellas, with concerted actions, received the donation from the Mayor of Athens, General Pausanias Katsotas, the four statues (three Muses and one Grace) you observed in the central square: Thalia, Aglaia, Erato and Cleo, transported and placed on a stone pedestal left side of Passylipos. [19] Next to the park we find the 19th Century Metropolitan Church of St. Constantine (one of the largest in Greece). It is decorated with frescoes by the well-known Karditsiotis painter Dimitrios Goliadis. Entering the Temple hangs the "unintentional German bomb", which never broke, miraculously protecting the magnificent dome of the Temple. Inside the church there is a ornate icon dedicated to Saint Seraphim (Bishop of Fanari and Neochori), who is also the patron saint. The church of Zoodohos Pigi (Kaminadon district) is of interest to the north of the metropolis at a short distance from 1842, according to an inscription on the wood-carved icon screen. At the end of the central pedestrian street, leaving Passylipos, is the central square, characteristic of which is the building of the Bank of Faith, the old "Pallas", a neoclassical building, built in the late 19th century and functioned as the first hotel in the city with the name Fine Greece and then as a cinema. Reference point is the Fountain, which is a recent ornament for the square (the sculptor Nellas Gallandas) and depicts the constellations at each end of the horizon. Landmarks today are:
Pulsifolio. The 50 acre park was designed in 1901 by engineer G. Foskolos. Initially, the trees covered the section north of Tertipi's current pedestrian street, while the south (Plastira Square) was occupied by the bouquet, with its elegant white café. A stunning green park ideal for walking and walking. Passylipos was the first urban communal green to have been acquired by Karditsa, twenty years after the annexation of Thessaly to the Greek state. The creation of the 165-acre park, designed by engineer G. Foskolos, was the initiative of Mayor Stergios Lappas, who linked his name with other infrastructure such as the water supply network, the municipal baths, the central square and the Municipal Market. It was named "Pulsifilon ... because truth and fun and sorrow amused, and sorrow ceases from the air of pure and cool and from the beer of the abundantly abused and from the speeches of the everyday phonograph." Initially, the trees covered the section north of Tertipi's current pedestrian street, while the southern part (Plastira square) was occupied by the flower garden, with the elegant white café with the two gazebos, a picture we see in many postwar wallets. All the artistic events of the city were hosted by the 40's: from the Philharmonic concerts and the cinematic screenings to the theater and the Karagiozas. The park was associated with important events of spiritual and economic life, such as the feasts of the Anthysteria, revived in 1931 at the initiative of the Popular Library "Athena" and the First Panthessal National Product Exhibition in 1935. In the 1930s, of the park occupied the 3rd elementary school and the polytechnic, which after the earthquakes of 1954 temporarily housed the town hall. The present refreshment was built in the mid-50s when the flower garden was turned into an asphalt square. At the same time, the bust of Prime Minister N. Plastiras and four statues of muses were transferred from Omonia square of Athens, which are now in the central square. The redevelopment of Pavisylipos in the 1990s was based on a study awarded at a pan-Hellenic architectural competition in 1984 and aimed at turning it into a modern, urban park.
Georgiou Karaiskaki's statue. The brass statue of the great hero of 1821, Georgios Karaiskakis, is the largest horse-mount in Greece. It was created by the sculptor Nicolitsa-Leto Leonti, daughter of the well-known sculptor Efstathios Leonti, after a pan-Hellenic art contest that started in 2010, at the initiative of the Mayor of Karditsa Domenikos Verilli and co-financing of our Municipality, Thessaly Region, Thessaly and Iera Metropolitan of Thessliotida and Fanarifarsalon. It was placed in the central square of the city in 2017. The sculpture depicts the hero in the last battle of his life and expresses with great fidelity the horse's intensity and anguish but also the determination of the hero himself to fight the enemy, Really sick. His gaze shows that he has already crossed the opposite bank of Acheron, but his soul supports the struggle of his life as a last resort. The equipment of the horse, the hero's clothes and his armor were made in much detail, giving the sculptor's information from books, paintings and other historical sources.Court Court. Just next to the episcopal mansion, it was founded in 1934 by Justice Minister Karditsiotis Spyros Taliadouros. The building is a one-storeyed, flat-faced, P. The simple facade is symmetrically divided with the elevated central part of the entrance and with an imposing propy. A rampart with vestibule at the door and a plaster that imitates isodomic wall is the only, neoclassical inspiration, decorative architectural elements. The project was funded pre-war with the well-known extraordinary taxation of the "prominent" by the special fund for the construction of court losers and prisons, as well as in several other Greek cities. Due to the conjuncture of the war, the building was completed in 1954, after the prisons began operating in 1948.Metropolitan Palace. Near the Courts, the metropolitan palace is housed in the imposing house of the MP and the great-grandmother Dimitris Malliopoulos. In 1924 it was bought by the IM. Thessaliotis and Phanariorisalis on the initiative of the active metropolitan Ezekiel to become an episcopal mansion, maintaining its neoclassical style. At the same time, a new wing was added to the west. The new addition, in the late 1960s, temporarily housed the collection of icons and ecclesiastical heirlooms of the Metropolis. It is exposed today in the reception halls of the recently restored mansion (1996).Nicholas Plastiras statue. The bronze on horseback stands in the former Pausilios flower, in the square of the same name. It is the work of the famous sculptor Stelios Triandis (1986-1987). Nikolaos Plastiras (1883-1953) is a fair, oversized and imposing man with a military dress and a naked sword on a rocky high pedestal. The sculpture was set up at the initiative of the Union of Scientists of the Prefecture of Karditsa.Hotel Arni. West at the end of the central pedestrian street, we find the neoclassical Arni Hotel. The magnificent neo-classical two-storey mansion with its characteristic dome was built in 1921 by the political and businessman Konstantinos Tertipis. It is a magnificent neoclassical two-storey mansion with eclectic influences. It was built in 1921 by the politician and businessman Konstantinos Tertipis. He named it "Arni" in honor of his brother, Demetrius, who in 1878 won a victorious battle against the Turks in the area of ​​the prehistoric "Arni", in today's Tower of Ceri. The coronation of the building adorned an ornate dome, which collapsed with the earthquakes of '54. The attempt to restore it in the early 90's failed aesthetically and the dome was replaced with a tile roof. The building housed a deluxe hotel on two floors, "meet all hygienic and euphemistic conditions", while on the ground floor there was a theater-cinema hall, banqueting and a café-shop. The owner has personally dealt with the aesthetics of the building, the layout of the building, as well as details such as the shape of the stage and the furniture, which were ordered from abroad. A few months after the death of its initiator, in early 1925, the holding took over a joint stock company, which arranged the adjoining ground floor building in a "dashing hall" exclusively for dance gatherings, and built a floor for casino, according to inter-war entertainment. By the late 1940s, the arsenal corner cafe, apart from intellectuals and artists, was also home to sculptures and drawings of paintings, which were exposed to the public's judgment before taking their place in public places in the city, such as B.C. the eight large multi-compositional compositions made by D. Yoldassis for the church of St. Constantine.

Best time to visit
All seasons are just as beautiful.
In the summer, the temperature reaches 45 degrees, while in the winter you really understand winter, since it is snowing quite often (but very low) and the temperature is often dropped below zero.
Know before visiting
Karditsa is a city where you can go there to relax, have fun, go well and make the best impressions ...THE WASHING PLACE OF PLASTIRA, is another chapter - and perhaps the most important - about Karditsa